This is Hyde Daily Photo Volume 1 (2006-2011) which is now in archive mode. For recent photographs please visit Hyde Daily Photo Volume 2. Additional material and links to blogger friends can be found at Hyde DP Xtra.

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

The Longest Day


Yesterday was the summer equinox which started for me shortly after sunrise at 5am BST (4am GMT) when, still rather bleary-eyed, I leaned out of the window and aimed my zoom lens at the Hare & Hounds up on Werneth Low. I then went back to bed.


This is how it looked at noon GMT (1pm BST).


Sunset was at around 21:45 BST (8.45pm GMT) which is when I took this third shot of the day.

See how it looked at the same time last year.

7 comments:

Diane AZ said...

Beautiful view, interesting comparisons. :D

fredwrite said...

Photographing a bar at 5:00 o'clock in the morning? Bit early isn't it?

Naturedigital said...

Beautiful photographs.
Costas

lewi14 said...

Wonderful shots of a lovely landscape.

Petrus said...

Longest day !!! Does this mean we've turned the corner and next stop is winter ?

I hope not ..

Cezar and Léia said...

Cool idea, thanks so much for sharing these pictures!
Léia

Lois said...

Nice series! I think I prefer the early morning one though.

Unless otherwise stated, all photographs on this site are copyright © 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 Gerald England.

In most cases, clicking on the photograph will reveal a larger-sized image.

Followers

Cluster Map